Tags

[Craft Corner] Chubby Pride Birds – Amigurumi and Free Pattern

Hey everyone!

I’m really excited to finally be able to show you my amigurumi (crocheted or knitted dolls) Pride Birds! Earlier in the month, the admin of the Facebook group TBR and Beyond posted this image:

34268496_10160405258535481_915634564481679360_o (1)

I thought they were adorable and thought they would be perfect as little stuffed animals. With a little tinkering, I was able to come up a bird pattern, and I will be sharing that pattern with you all today.

tumblr_o54canqAi61u90noio1_1280But first I wanted to introduce you all to Jen Budrock of Birdhism, the original artist of the image that inspired my creations. She is a bird rescuer and advocate whose love for birds started when she adopted Clifford the Conure, her first Special Needs buddy. The birds pictured above are actually part of her Chubby Bird Collection. If you’re as in love with her designs as I am, you can purchase them as stickers, jewelry, prints, and more here.

Now, without further ado, here are my Chubby Pride Bird amigurumi.


allthebirds

Pattern

Materials:
Hook size: F and 4.5
Worsted Weight Yarn
Stuffing
6mm Safety Eyes
Fabric Glue
Yellow Felt
Scissors

Abbreviations:
ch- chain
sc- single crochet
dc- double crochet
tr – triple crochet
inc- increase ( 2 single crochets in 1 stitch)
dec- decrease ( single crochet 2 stiches together
sl st- slip stitch
(…)- number of stitches in round
F/O- Finish off

Unless otherwise stated, repeat the instructions until the end of the round.

Heart Face: with 4.5 hook
Start with a magic ring and chain 2
Rnd 1: 3 tr, 4 dc, tr, 4 dc, 3 tr in magic ring
Chain 2, start to close ring, sl st into magic ring, close magic ring, F/O

Body: with F hook
This is worked in the round. Slip Stitch and chain 1 after every round. Start the first stitch of the next round in the same stitch as the slip stitch.
Rnd 1: 6 sc in magic ring (6)
Rnd 2: inc (12)
Rnd 3: sc, inc (18)
Rnd 4: 2 sc, inc (24)
Rnd 5: 3 sc, inc (30)
Rnd 6-15 (10 rnds): sc (30) Begin stuffing.
Rnd 16: 3 sc, dec (24)
Rnd 17: 2 sc, dec (18)
Rnd 18: sc, dec (12) Finish stuffing body.
Rnd 19: dec (6)
F/O. Weave in ends.

heartplacement

 

 

Attach heart to body. The top of the heart should be on round 6 of the body.

 

 

 

eyesnose

With fabric glue, attach safety eyes. My eyes go through the heart and then between  rounds 9 and 10 of the body. Ace bird: Cut 2 circles larger than the safety eyes. Cut a slit in the center of the circles and push safety eyes through.

Cut a small triangle from fabric and glue to the center of the heart.

 

Wing x2: with F hook
Rnd 1: 4 sc in magic ring (4)
Rnd 2: sc, inc (6)
Rnd 3: sc, inc (9)
Rnd 4: sc (9)
Rnd 5: sc, dec (6)
F/O. Leave long tail for sewing to body.

wingplacement

 

 

Sew wings to round 11 about 2 stitches away from the heart.

 

 

 

Tail: with F hook
1. With the body faced down and towards you, find the center of the bird’s back by looking at the center of the heart. Join yarn with a slip stitch between rounds 15 and 16 of the body.tail2. Ch 3, sl st in second ch from hook, sc in next ch, sl st to body.
3. Repeat step 2.
F/O. Weave in ends.

Color Changes For Each Bird:

The original design is not my own. Therefore, objects made from this pattern are not to be sold for profit.


I hope you all enjoy my rendition of the Chubby Birds, and happy pride month!!! I’d love to see any birds you make from my pattern! What do you think of my new craft corner? Would you be interested in seeing more posts like this one? I’d love the feedback!

Cya! ^^

signature

41 thoughts on “[Craft Corner] Chubby Pride Birds – Amigurumi and Free Pattern

    1. Thank you so much! I think if you look around there’s a crochet to knit converter. I believe someone in a needlecraft group I was in used it before. I haven’t tried looking for one myself, though.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love those Justine! Super cute. 😍 I used to crochet as a kid (beanies were the most advanced thing I could create he he) but will seriously look into again during autumn as I think these could be really thoughtful and very personal gifts for. Y family and friends. 😊
    And I do enjoy your creative corner very much! 😊👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Vera! I’m glad you liked this because I wasn’t sure how well it would work lol. I learned to crochet through YouTube, too! I would love to see if you make anything ^^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thank you! Learning to knit was harder than learning to crochet for me, so you shouldn’t have too hard of a time trying to learn. This is also a beginner pattern haha. I taught myself through the crochet geek on YouTube if you want to give it a go. ^^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! These are definitely a beginner pattern. I suggest videos from The Crochet Geek on Youtube if you want to learn basic amigurumi. That’s how I learned. ^^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Oh has it? I used to be way into it until about 3 years ago. I went to a convention recently, and there was only 1 amigurumi artist so I thought it was dying down.

      Like

    1. I just discovered her when I went looking for the artist. She was really nice when I asked about possibly posting this, and all her work is so cute! I recommend Crochet Geek on YouTube if you want to learn more crochet. I taught myself using her tutorials lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness these are beyond cute! Have no clue how to crochet but these would almost make me want to learn! Cute little chubby birds 🐦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I didn’t know how to read either for awhile, but YouTube can be a big life saver sometimes lol. Thanks again! I tried haha! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment